Domestic violence covers a range of offenses, from willful intimidation to physical assault. It also includes battery, sexual assault, and other sorts of abusive behavior within a domestic relationship. The abuse manifested in domestic violence is an act that isn’t limited to physical hurting — it broaches other venues wherein an individual can wield aggressive power and control over his or her partner, spouse, cohabitant, and/or family.
In Cincinnati, Ohio
A violent crime defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Steven R. Adams in Ohio enumerates the possible penalties of a first-time domestic violence conviction:
- The convicted criminal may get a maximum of 180 days in jail.
- In addition, he or she is on probation for three years.
- The convicted criminal has to pay a $1,000 fine.
- He or she receives a stay-away order from the victim and temporary protective orders.
In the State of Ohio, a mandatory arrest policy takes effect upon the establishment of probable cause. And this arrest happens even when both parties aren’t interested in filing charges or prosecuting each other.
Residents of Ohio must consider how a police investigation works. It doesn’t necessarily mean that, in an incident of domestic violence, the police chases after the instigator of the fight. Investigation relies on the determination of the primary aggressor. It is possible for cross complaints or dual arrests to happen.
On Ohio House Bill 29
Amy Rezos, a victim of domestic violence, is from Ohio. Her husband, Chris Rezos, had attempted to kill her thrice — he shot her twice in the head while being out on bail after beating her senseless a couple of weeks before.
The Ohio House and Senate passed HB29 and Bob Taft signed the bill into effect after Amy Rezos had pushed for harsher penalties for first-time domestic violence criminals. It orders a suspect of domestic violence to stand trial before the courts arrive at any decision on bail. It also includes providing the judge with the 20-question background information.
This is how the State of Ohio takes domestic violence — with as much aggression as an offender — you just have to stand up for yourself, especially when you know you’ve had enough.